Global Home - Science and Innovation - Scientific Advisory Board

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is playing an important role in directing our R&D activities and focus on innovative anti-infectives. The Board brings together leading international experts in infectious diseases, clinical microbiology, respiratory medicines and pharmaceutical research and development.

The Board’s insight and guidance combined with Xellia’s specialist expertise are being harnessed to overcome the challenges associated with anti-infective discovery and development activities.

"We welcome the members of the new Scientific Advisory Board to the Company. Their scientific and clinical insight and guidance combined with our specialist expertise will help us improve the efficacy, increase safety profile and reduce the side effects of existing molecules and develop new drugs to help tackle the global crisis of antimicrobial resistance"

Carl-Åke Carlsson Chief Executive Officer
  • Professor George Edward Griffin

    Chairman of Xellia’s Scientific Advisory Board

  • Dr Andreas Rummelt

    Member of Xellia's Scientific Advisory Board

  • Professor Gerhard Winter

    Member of Xellia's Scientific Advisory Board

  • Professor Christoph Marcel Tang

    Member of Xellia's Scientific Advisory Board

  • Dr Tania Pressler

    Member of Xellia's Scientific Advisory Board

  • Professor Keith S Kaye

    Member of Xellia's Scientific Advisory Board

  • Professor Anne O'Donnell

    Member of Xellia's Scientific Advisory Board

  • Professor Arjana Tambic Andrasevic

    Member of Xellia's Scientific Advisory Board

  • Professor Matthew Falagas

    Member of Xellia's Scientific Advisory Board

  • Professor Radan Spaventi

    Member of Xellia's Scientific Advisory Board

Professor George Edward Griffin

Emeritus Professor of Infectious Disease and Medicine at St George’s, University of London, UK.

Professor Griffin is a world renowned expert in infectious diseases. His work has involved developing cellular, molecular and whole body research aimed at defining how humans adapt to infection with TB and HIV. In addition, he has used vaccination in humans to define normal and perturbed immune response.

Professor Griffin has held a number of appointments on the Wellcome Trust and MRC grants committees and was part of the Gates Grand Challenge grant awarding committee. He is Chairman of the Advisory Committee in Dangerous Pathogens, responsible for advising the British Government.

Dr Andreas Rummelt

Member of Xellia Board of Directors supporting R&D. Andreas is CEO and Partner of InterPharmaLink AG, Basel, Switzerland. His international career spans over twenty years in executive management positions at Novartis.

Other Board positions: Member of the Board of Directors of Alexion Pharmaceuticals, USA, and Member of the Advisory Board of several privately held international companies.

Education: MSc and PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany.

Professor Gerhard Winter

Department of Pharmacy, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Munich, Germany.

Professor Winter is an expert in formulation development and delivery of biopharmaceutical drugs, colloidal drug carriers, parenteral process technologies and lyophilization. Before moving to academia, he spent more than 12 years working in the pharmaceutical industry.

During this time, he was responsible for market formulations of erythropoietin, ibandronate and reteplase and led a formulations research team on parenteral drugs, focusing on biotech products.

Professor Christoph Marcel Tang

The Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK.

Professor Tang leads a research group which is focused on defining the mechanisms of important bacterial pathogens that cause disease in humans, and applying these findings to the development of vaccines and therapeutics.

His research group has a number of prestigious collaborations with institutes in the UK, Europe, and the U.S. Professor Tang has published over 100 papers in peer-reviewed journals.

Dr Tania Pressler

Chief Attending Physician, Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen, Denmark

Dr. Pressler has been working with Cystic Fibrosis since 1982 and is the Consultant Physician at the Juliane Maries Center, Outpatient Clinic for Cystic Fibrosis and other chronic lung diseases in children at the Copenhagen University Hospital, and Director of the Copenhagen Cystic Fibrosis Centre for both children and adults.

In addition to clinical responsibilities, Dr. Pressler holds a research position at the Department of Clinical Microbiology, where she is involved in a number of research projects and international collaborations.

Professor Keith S Kaye

Professor of Internal Medicine, Director of Clinical Research,  Division of Infectious Diseases, University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA.

Professor Kaye is also the Corporate Medical Director of Hospital Epidemiology and Antimicrobial Stewardship for both institutions. Professor Kaye’s academic interests are the epidemiology of and outcomes associated with multi-drug resistant bacteria; infections in the elderly; surgical site infection; device-related infections and antimicrobial stewardship.

He is currently a Principal Investigator on a multi-center NIH-funded contract studying Colistin-based therapy for infections caused by extremely drug resistant gram-negative bacilli. Professor Kaye has authored over 100 peer-reviewed articles and 15 book chapters.

Professor Anne O'Donnell

Professor and Chief, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine, Georgetown University Hospital, Washington DC, USA.

Professor O’Donnell has particular interests in pulmonary diseases, with a special focus in bronchiectasis, respiratory infections including nontuberculous mycobacterium, sleep apnea and sleep disorders, cystic fibrosis, and non-invasive ventilation.

Professor Arjana Tambic Andrasevic

Head of the Department of Clinical Microbiology at the University Hospital for Infectious Diseases, Zagreb, Croatia

Professor Andraševic is active in many national and international organizations and committees. She is President of the Croatian Society for Clinical Microbiology, the Croatian Committee for Antibiotic Resistance Surveillance and the Interdisciplinary Section for Antibiotic Resistance Control at the Croatian Ministry of Health.

She is also the national representative for a number of prominent European antibiotic and antimicrobial resistance initiatives.

Professor Matthew Falagas

Director, Department of Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases, Iaso General Hospital, Iaso Group, Athens, Greece.

Professor Radan Spaventi

Founding Partner, Triadelta Partners Ltd, Zagreb, Croatia.

"Xellia has attracted an impressive Board of scientific and clinical advisors, which I am proud to chair. Antimicrobial resistance is a huge area of unmet medical need and one of the greatest threats to human health. By working together, we can focus on overcoming the challenges associated with developing improved and new drugs to combat these serious bacterial and fungal infections"

Professor George Griffin Chairman of the Xellia Scientific Advisory Board